Random Observations · Toronto

2016 New Year’s Resolutions

This mess is why I need to clean out, revamp and perhaps simplify my wardrobe
This mess is why I need to clean out, revamp and perhaps simplify my wardrobe

Happy New Year everyone! And with the start of 2016, or any new year, comes my yearly listing of this year’s goals or “New Year’s Resolutions”. I started calling them goals rather than resolutions years ago because I found that it helped me focus on them a little more. Of course, I don’t achieve all 5 – I always list 5 goals each January – but I work on them all to a greater or lesser extent. Don’t laugh but a couple of years ago I was even mentioned in the Toronto Star and interviewed for CBC’s The National because I publish my ‘goals’ or resolutions.

To make things a little more interesting, I classified them all. Okay, this may only be interesting for me but I thought it might inject a little levity to the tradition.

And without further ado, here they are…

My 2016 Goals

The classic – Lose a little weight

While this isn’t the first time I’ve made this goal or one similar, and it’s probably the most popular New Year’s resolution, it’s nonetheless, one I want to achieve. And mostly because my jeans are just a little too tight. Being as I spend a lot of time sitting in front of a computer, first at my fundraising office job and then writing, a few pounds have creeped on and I’m not happy with that so it’s time to make some changes. A couple of tweeks to my diet (no, I’m not going on a diet, just making some changes) and adding in some more exercise (both cardio and weights) to get back to my happy place… where my jeans fit.

The challenge – Revamp my closet and style

This is the big goal, the one I really want to do, and I’ll be writing more about the process in another post as it’s not a simple one. I’ve been thinking about it and skirting around it for ages so I decided to spend the holidays reading up on how I can do it. I have a plan in place, based on my research and by the middle of January, the clean out part will be done. My main problem isn’t that I like shopping a lot, in fact, I rarely shop and never even come close to spending my clothing budget each year. No, my problem is I can’t get rid of anything so there are clothes in my closet from high school, most of which I haven’t wore in years. Time to clean it out.

But more than just clearing my closet – as difficult as that may be, it’s the easy part – I want to revamp and clarify my style. I’m not a kid anymore and I’d like to develop a more classic yet still fun, bohemian style. This part of the goal will take a little longer but I’ve already started it as well.

The personal – spend more time writing

I love writing – fiction, on ATK Magazine and here – but even though I spend hours working on ATK, I’ve had little time for personal writing. And by that I mean both fiction and writing here. Don’t get me wrong, I love writing about Korean topics on ATK and I’m certainly not going to stop. What I am going to do is spend a little more time both on my fictional work and writing here. To get me started, and because I like lists, I’ve made a schedule to budget in 10 hours each week for personal writing.

The romantic – actively try to meet someone

I am the queen of excuses, and the most common one I use is true so it holds a lot of weight. You see, I am comfortable being single. However, I don’t want to be single. I love being in a relationship, being in love. I remember how happy I was when I was in my last good one. It’s fun and exciting, challenging and interesting. So I need to stop being comfortable and put myself back out there. Go speed dating, hang out in a coffee shop and write, go to a singles mixer, try online dating again… do something. You never know.

The funny – fix my tea collection

Okay, this is going to sound like an odd resolution but I need to get my tea collection under control. This means three things – first, I need to stop buying new teas for a while. Secondly, I need to keep track of the teas I really like and those I don’t. Don’t get me wrong, I know I don’t like mint teas, of any kind, so I don’t buy those. But I love strong, flavourful black teas and some of the black teas I own, aren’t that good. Finally, I need to weed out the teas I don’t like and not buy them again, thereby getting my tea collection under control. Why is this an issue? Currently I own 35 different teas, mostly loose leaf. I drink a lot of tea but even I can’t drink that much. I want to get it down to 20 teas and then institute a new rule – I can only buy a new tea if I finish an old one, thereby keeping the total at 20.

Final thoughts

Those are my five goals or “New Year’s Resolutions for 2016 and I’m happy to say, I already have plans, spreadsheets and lists in place to move forward on four of them. Looking back at last year’s goals, it was my worst year yet at accomplishing my goals, partly because I wrote them and forgot them (I usually achieve 2-3 of the 5 goals but not in 2015, boo). This year, I want to do better and so, as I wrote them, I put a plan in place on how I was going to succeed. I scheduled in writing and exercise time, developed a plan to revamp my closet and fix my tea collection so 2016 is already off to a good start.

What are your goals for 2016?

Leave a Reply

