City Living

New Year, New Roommate

January – and to a lesser extent, February – has been a month of change for me, both personally and professionally. On the professional side, I’ve finally moved forward with my dream of turning Life’s an Adventure 2 (which I’ve spent the past two years growing and slowly professionalizing) from a blog into an online magazine – ATK Magazine. It’s been dominating my thoughts and evenings to a huge extend for the past two months but my dream is finally coming to fruition. So excited!

But as excited as I am about the new online magazine and as much as I’ve stressed about it, it’s actually not the largest change in my life over the past two months. You see, my roommate gave notice on December 1, 2012 so I needed to find a new one. I have a good two-bedroom apartment that I like and I’m comfortable in… so I wanted to stay but I’m not yet in a position where I can have my own place. So I placed an ad and went roommate shopping.

Of course, there is some stress with finding a new roommate since you’ll be sharing a place together, you’ll see each other daily… except I hadn’t seen my roommate for almost a year. I had an amazing situation. I was paying half the rent but had the place to myself. And over the last 10 months, especially over the past 6 months (when I realized she really wasn’t coming back), I’d slowly made the apartment mine.

I now have a new roommate. She seems lovely but she needed to move in a little early (mid-January instead of February 1st) and I didn’t realize how difficult this change was going to be until she was actually there. Don’t get me wrong, I knew it was going to be an adjustment but wow, it’s harder than I thought. Sharing space that was solely mine for so long is turning out to be a challenge.

Weirdly enough, I’ve done this before. Not have a roommate – I’ve had several over the years, as well as lived on my own – but I mean, I’ve had a two-bedroom place all to myself and then got a roommate. That time, I was helping out a friend who needed a place. Perhaps because it was my choice, it was much easier to adjust. This wasn’t my choice and the speed with which it happened has been just a little off-putting for my orderly Virgo self. So, since I think better when I write, I thought I would chronicle my first impressions and then revisit the situation after a month before forming an opinion. I’m going to work very hard at not thinking of the apartment as my apartment (my challenge) and I hope that my first impression about needing ground rules is wrong.

First Impressions

  • She’s friendly and nice.
  • A night owl like me.
  • Does her dishes. Big yay!
  • We have different work schedules so mornings aren’t an issue at the moment.
  • Boyfriend stay-overs might be an issue we’ll need to address.
  • It would be handy to know each other’s work schedules so we can both plan the best time to do household stuff – like laundry. I haven’t had to share the washer/dryer in ages so being able to plan would be helpful.

Basically, there are no problems. I just need to adjust to sharing the space again. ^^

Leave a Reply

