Toronto

ShesConnected Conference 2012

Sorry for the incredibly belated post – I’ve been planning a K-pop Halloween fundraiser that took a lot of my time. But I didn’t forget this post… because it was a fun and valuable experience… and one, that if you’re a blogger in Canada (not just Toronto), you should know about. That is, if you don’t already.

What am I talking about?

The ShesConnected Conference, of course! Want to hear my thoughts on this fantastic two-day blogging conference for women? Keep reading then.

I’m not a morning person… at all. In fact, I hate mornings. Yeah, I wake up in the morning all the time and get myself to work on time but i don’t enjoy it. Why am I telling you this? Because by letting you know how much I hate mornings, you’ll probably understand better how much attending the ShesConnected conference meant to me. I woke up at 6:45 on a Saturday to do so. 6:45 in the morning! On a SATURDAY! Yeah, I realize that for most people this isn’t a big deal but for me… it’s huge. That’s how important I thought attending the conference was.

This was my second year attending the ShesConnected conference and each year I learned valuable information to take my blogging to the next level. Last year, even though I’d been writing a personal blog for about 5 years, I was in the process of turning it into a more useful informational blog about Korean culture, specifically Korean culture in Toronto. Still personal of course, but I wanted it to be a good resource for other Korean culture lovers – especially those in Toronto (I’m talking about Life’s an Adventure 2 as I hadn’t started Toronto Thoughts yet when I attended last year). And attending ShesConnected last year gave me some great ideas to take my blogging where I wanted it to go.

So you can imagine my excitement when I received an email from ShesConnected to tell me that the Chicken Farmers of Canada had sponsored my admission to this year’s conference. Thanks so much! I had just been thinking that I wouldn’t be able to attend as I hadn’t budgeted for the conference so the Chicken Farmers of Canada were blog-savers (I’d say lifesavers but that would be just a little dramatic, even for me^^).

ShesConnected 2012

This year’s conference was ever better than last year’s – and I really enjoyed and found value in last year’s conference. I really liked the breakout sessions as it allowed me to choose the topics that were most relevant to me. You know there are great sessions when more than one of them in a particular timeframe sound fascinating. And I loved that it was less mommy blogger focused than last year and more open to all types of blogging.

The sponsors for the conference were amazing! Huge props to all of them but especially to Ford Canada, McDonalds, and Molson! Ford had some super fun interactive games, McDonalds had delicious lattes and smoothies all-day long, and Molson had a fun & yummy cheese and beer tasting. Which reminds me, I need to remember to use that gift certificate to buy some Molson M for my next dinner party… I’m going to have a beer & cheese tasting at it and Molson M (which I tried for the first time there) will be one of the beers we’ll use.

Other highlights included using mink eyelashes for the first time, seeing some bloggers I’d met last year again and meeting new ones, chatting with the different sponsors and of course, the keynote speech by Kate White.

I’m truly thankful I went (thanks again to the Chicken Farmers of Canada) as I learned quite a bit of useful information – not only about blogging, but also about the different bloggers, brands and companies that attended. If you have a chance to go in 2013, go!

Leave a Reply

