Book Review · Dating

Who Would You Choose for Your Book Boyfriend?

I’ve always had an unusually strong love of fantasy books. While I read a little of pretty much all genres – and own a decent assortment of books from classics to philosophy to romance to travel – somewhere about a 1/3 of all the books I read and/or own are fantasy books. I love the escape they offer and being able to create a picture of the story in my imagination. And a very high percentage of those books are vampire fantasy – although I was reading fantasy and vamp books way before it was cool! Which means way before the crappy ass Twilight books – man, those are some of the worst written books ever – they are right up there with Scarlet (the sequel to Gone with the Wind) which is the worst book ever in my opinion (Scarlet, not Gone with the Wind). But I digress!

Part of my love of vamp books stems from a very real and very strong childhood fear of them – vampires not books. I used to have horribly vivid nightmares about them as a young child & pre-teen and for most of my childhood would sleep with a scarf wrapped around my neck. Crazy, right?!? Of course, I outgrew my childhood fear and one of the ways I did it was to read everything I could get my hands on about vampires and the myths around them. My mom believes that not only does knowledge equal power but it also cures ignorant childhood fears – turns out she’s right. Plus I got to write some interesting history essays on Count Dracul and other real people who contributed to the myth of vampires.

Why am I telling you about this? Just to let you know that my “book boyfriend” choices aren’t going to be the normal kind. And none of the characters are from the classics – I’ve read most of them of course but don’t ever remember thinking “wow, he’s cool” about any of the guys. So who did I choose?

Image courtesy of Amazon.ca

Jean-Claude from the Anita Blake series by Laurell K. Hamilton

Dude screams sex! OMG the images I envision when I read those books – I own them all and have re-read them a few times – are NOT PG-13, more like XXX. Okay, I’m exaggerating a little but not by much. And yeah, I know there’s more to a boyfriend than sex. Jean-Claude is also loyal, smart, funny, a good businessman, diplomatic and has a host of other good boyfriend qualities. But hot damn, the sex scenes! Oh, for those that don’t know the series – he’s the master vampire of St. Louis who’s also an incubus.

Image courtesy of Amazon.ca

F’lar from the Dragonriders of Pern series by Anne McCaffrey

F’lar was the weyrleader of Benden Weyr and the rider of bronze dragon Mnementh. I remember reading these books as a young teenager and thinking he was amazing. He was strong, kind, compassionate, a great leader, and intelligent – all great qualities in a boyfriend. Plus, he rides a dragon – how cool is that! Admittedly, it’s been ages since I’ve read these books but I remember as a young teenager that Lessa (his love) was super lucky.

Image courtesy of Amazon.ca

Eric Northman from the The Southern Vampire Mysteries series by Charlaine Harris

For those who haven’t read the books, these are the books that were made into the TV series True Blood. His character is an important one in both the books and the TV show but I much prefer the version of his character in the books. Yeah, there is a difference. He’s much more manipulative in the TV show and has more depth of character in the books. Plus he just seems more fun in the books. I’m not generally into blondes but who couldn’t like a sexy, fun, 1000 year old Viking!?!

I love his confidence, yeah, it borders on arrogance but confidence is sexy! I also love how he always tells it exactly as it is – or at least as he sees it. Not guessing at meanings or motives is refreshing. Yeah, he can be a little manipulative even in the books but no one’s perfect. I don’t why but he also seems caring and routinely is seen protecting Sookie in the books. Plus whether the books or TV – he exudes charisma and attractiveness. Come on, you want your boyfriend to be attractive, right?

Image courtesy of Amazon.ca

Damon Salvatore from The Vampire Diaries by L. J. Smith

Yes, this was also a series of books before it was a TV series. I’ve always been a sucker for the “bad boy” which is probably why I’m still single. And Damon is the perfect bad boy. He has the perfect dark bad boy looks that I always picture are accompanied by leather jackets and a fabulous kiss. Hey, a girl can dream! While yeah, he’s certainly not perfect, he does work at being a better version of himself. And as he falls in love with Elana, he becomes more human, more lovable. Which just goes to show… that love DOES conquer all! Plus I don’t really like Stephan – in either the books or the TV show, but especially in the TV show… he’s whiny. So not a characteristic I want in a boyfriend. I haven’t read the books in years but I remember rooting for Damon!

And for the more conventional choice… but still from a fantasy book.

Image courtesy of Amazon.ca

Aragorn from The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien

The three books in this trilogy would all make my top 10 list of favourite books – and I’ve read A LOT of books over the years. I’ve read this trilogy a few times since I was a child – including re-reading them when I worked as a nanny so I could help my 10 year old charge understand them when she was reading them for the first time. I remember falling in love with Aragorn when I first read them and wanting to find a guy with his strength of character. He had all the characteristics you could possibly want in a boyfriend – he was brave, compassionate and true to his love for Arwen. And yeah, I always pictured him to be hot too – just like Viggo Mortensen was in the movies.

Leave a Reply

