Dating · Random Observations

Do we need to be told how to be single?

I’m single and have been for a little over a year. And while I would love to meet the love of my life, fall wildly in love, get married and have kids; I’m also enjoying being single. Being single means I get to live my life on my own schedule – and I currently have a very busy schedule. Don’t get me wrong, boyfriends are great (well, some of the them anyways) and I’m not trying to say that having one infringes on my freedom because it doesn’t but it does mean that when making plans, I have to consider another person. Sometimes that’s a good thing and makes life more fun; and sometimes it makes life more complicated. Regardless, it’s just something you have to do in a relationship. Most people understand this and have no problem with it. So why do people – and I’m looking at you, women’s magazines and websites – think that the opposite, being single, is horrible or something to be “dealt with”.

What am I talking about – I’m talking about being single. I was reading an article last night from an e-newsletter I usually really enjoy reading that totally pissed me off. It actually said “Being alone: whether it’s because you recently got out of a relationship or your sweetie is away for a couple of months, finding the inclination to fill that void somehow may seem hard.” REALLY! I’ve never had a hard time “filling that void”. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve always grieved when a relationship ended, even if I was the one who ended it. But I have a full life and while I would love it to include a boyfriend, it doesn’t need to. And I hate the implied message that there is a “void” or something wrong with my life when it doesn’t. Maybe I’m reading too much into it – I do that sometimes – and I’m been known to overthink things. What do you think?

Now, I have no problem with the six ways the article recommends we women “fill the void”. I think they are all great things to do and I do them all occasionally. I just don’t think we need to be told how to “fill the void” left by our absent partner. And I really have a problem with the term “fill the void”. But perhaps I’m being overly-sensitive.

So I want to hear from you… am I reading too much into the article? What do you think about it?

To read the full article (so you can form your own opinion), click here.

Leave a Reply

